How to Make French Toast Vegan

9 Min Read
Rate this post

French toast is unquestionably a delicious breakfast item. This breakfast meal is often reserved for special occasions.

On Fridays, you may just eat French toast. However, you may be disappointed that you will no longer be able to enjoy this morning item.

If you’ve just begun following a vegan diet, you won’t be able to consume French toast. At the very least, it is not feasible to consume French toast using the standard recipe.

By adding a few key tweaks, you can make French toast vegan. Continue reading to discover about your alternatives for making the ideal breakfast that will delight your family without breaching your diet constraints.

Does French Toast Have Dairy?

How to Make French Toast Vegan

Yes, a standard French toast recipe will include dairy. Most French toast recipes include milk, which is included into the egg mixture.

This is the mixture in which the bread should be soaked. It is an essential component in making French toast.

It should be noted that not all French toast recipes call for dairy. There are several non-dairy recipes available that you may investigate.

Some of these alternatives will come close to being vegan, but they may not be completely vegan. Even so, it’s important to know that there are several milk replacements available.

If you are lactose intolerant, you can still enjoy French toast. You don’t have to fall behind simply because you can’t (or don’t want to) consume dairy.

Do You Need Milk?

No, milk is not required to create French toast. Many dairy components are regularly used in French toast, however there are non-dairy alternatives.

In most cases, nondairy milk will be used in lieu of milk in French toast. There may be recipes that call for almond milk or soy milk, for example.

So there are milk replacements that will enable you to enjoy French toast without drinking dairy. It’s just a matter of determining which choice is best for you.

Later on, you’ll receive some helpful tips for creating vegan French toast. For the time being, understand that dairy is widely used in French toast, but that you may avoid using milk by choosing non-dairy replacements.

Does French Toast Need Eggs?

Another typical item needed to create French toast is eggs. The conventional recipes will call for the usage of eggs to help prepare the custard.

The bread is going to soak up the custard. Before you can start cooking French toast, let the bread soak up the custard for 15 to 20 minutes.

Is it possible to make the custard without using eggs? After all, vegans cannot consume eggs.

There are egg-free French toast recipes available. Vegan dishes are available, and they never contain eggs or dairy products.

There are additional recipes that do not need eggs yet are not vegan. Some of these recipes may replace something else for the eggs while still including non-vegan ingredients.

Making Vegan French Toast

When you have the appropriate ingredients, making vegan French toast is a breeze. The most essential thing is to locate a recipe that uses an adequate substitution for all non-vegan items.

Instead of cow’s milk, you’ll use something like soy or almond milk. Soy milk is a common option that can be found in many of the most popular vegan French toast recipes.

As an egg replacement, ground flaxseeds and cornstarch may be used. If you like, you may use components like arrowroot starch.

Instead of using regular butter to oil the pan or griddle, use a vegan-friendly alternative. Vegan butter is a terrific option that may help you get excellent outcomes.

Aside from vegan butter, coconut oil is also acceptable. The coconut oil works well for frying the bread pieces.

Common Vegan French Toast Ingredients

There are several components that are typically used in vegan French toast. The most popular options are soy milk, almond milk, and coconut milk.

To make the custard-like substance, you’ll use a variety of ingredients as an egg replacement. Ground flaxseed, cornstarch, arrowroot starch, chia, and other ingredients may be used.

Make sure you have some form of vegan ingredient on hand to oil the pan. You will not be able to use regular butter.

It is advisable to use vegan butter or coconut oil to complete the task. Either solution will suffice.

The additional things you’ll need may vary depending on the recipe. However, ground cinnamon, maple syrup, vanilla, powdered sugar, and other kinds of fresh fruit are often used.

You will also be utilizing vegan-friendly bread. Many people choose ciabatta bread for preparing French toast since it works so nicely.

Is French Toast Healthy?

French toast, on the other hand, is not a healthy option. That doesn’t imply it’s particularly harmful.

This is not something you should consume on a regular basis. It is better to preserve it as a special morning treat rather than eating it many times each week.

Ingredients like maple syrup and powdered sugar pack on the calories. The vegan French toast has nutritious components, but it is not the best thing to eat for morning.

It is better to consume fresh fruit on its own rather than with French toast. Make healthy choices whenever possible, but don’t skip eating this meal as a special treat.

How Long Does It Take to Make Vegan French Toast?

Making vegan French toast takes no more time than making regular French toast. The procedure is almost same.

Allow enough time for the bread to soak in the liquid mixture. This is a critical step in the process that should not be skipped.

The soaking procedure will take at least fifteen minutes. Some recipes may instruct you to soak the bread overnight, but most vegan French toast recipes do not need this.

The bread will need at least five minutes of prep time and fifteen minutes of soaking time. Cooking the French toast takes about five minutes.

So you’ll be ready to dine in 25 minutes or less. It is not difficult to prepare for breakfast if you become accustomed to it.

Final Thoughts

You can easily create tasty French toast while following to vegan standards. It is required to swap vegan-friendly foods for dairy and eggs.

Instead of dairy milk, try soy milk, almond milk, or coconut milk. Replace the eggs with a mixture of ground flaxseed, arrowroot starch, cornstarch, and chia.

You can get vegan French toast recipes that can make your life easier. This will help you to produce excellent outcomes anytime you want French toast.

Don’t feel obligated to forego French toast because you’re vegan. You can eat this delicious morning meal, but you’ll have to get accustomed to cooking it differently.


What can I use instead of milk in French toast?

Heavy cream, almond milk, soy milk, powdered milk, or any other milk substitute may be used in place of dairy milk (hint: light coconut milk would be delicious). This is the finest choice. However, if you’re looking for how to make French toast without milk, I’m guessing you don’t have them either.

What is French toast batter made of?

French Toast Batter Ingredients
6 thick bread slices (approximately 1 inch thick)
2 tbsp.
1 cup of milk.
5 eggs.
1 ½ tsp vanilla extract.
1 teaspoon cinnamon.

What can I use instead of butter for French toast?

Soak the bread for just long enough to absorb the egg mixture but not so long that it gets saturated. When making French toast, use shortening or oil for the butter. The quantity required may vary depending on the size of the pan; use just enough to coat the bottom.

Why is there egg in French toast?

Eggs are essential in most typical French toast recipes because they thicken the dredging mixture, enabling it to adhere to the pieces of bread more readily during frying.

What can I use for milk instead of milk?

Milk hydrates the dry ingredients and provides flavor in most recipes, and there are lots of replacements that may accomplish the same without harming the final product.
It’s half and half.
The cream is thick.
Nondairy milks such as soy and almond.
The sour cream.
Milk that has been evaporated.
Coconut milk in a can.

What can I substitute for butter milk?

Here are several dairy-based buttermilk alternatives.
Vinegar with milk. When you add vinegar to milk, it becomes acidic, similar to buttermilk.
Lemon juice with milk.
Milk with tartar sauce.
Acid and lactose-free milk.
Sour cream with either water or milk.
Plain yogurt with either water or milk.
Kefir in its purest form.
Water and buttermilk powder.

What is the most common mistake in making French toast?

The Top 7 French Toast Cooking Mistakes
Excessive dairy and sugar in the custard. Don’t overdo it on the dairy.
The custard was not fully mixed.
Choosing the wrong bread.
Bread that has not been properly soaked.
Using too much or not enough heat.
The pan was not preheated.
Using just butter.

What is a substitute for heavy cream in French toast?

For every cup of heavy cream, use 4 cup melted butter.4 cup milk and 1 cup butter

When blended with melted butter, milk, like half-and-half, produces an excellent heavy cream alternative. Combine three

What do you need to make French toast?

Ingredients for French Toast
White bread is the foundation for every French toast.
Eggs: Eggs are important while making French toast.
Milk: You can technically use any liquid to make French toast, though milk is most popular.
French toast with vanilla and cinnamon is warm, comforting, fragrant, and delicious.

What do vegans use instead of butter on toast?

Vegan spreads such as Pure dairy-free spreads, Vitalite, Naturli’, Flora plant spreads, Aldi’s coconut oil or avocado spread, and Suma’s variety of spreads may be used. Why would you utilize it? These dairy-free margarines are wonderful as a butter substitute for toast, sandwiches, and gently spreading over scones and crumpets.

You might also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *